Friday, September 21, 2012

32 Forms and Powers of Ganapathi

Photography: Nanki Nath, Venue: Hostel 11, IIT- Bombay
20th September 2012

Ganesha, one of the most loved and adored deity of all has 32 different forms depicting the various traits that define his worshipped essence. Most of these forms are associated with some or the other narrative/story of Ganesha read / seen and told by our Grannies at home. 

The Story goes like this - The king of Mysore of Wodayar Dynasty, ordered his scholars to archive a list of all images of Gods. The archive is called 'Sri-tattva-nidhi'. It envisages huge lists of Hindu Gods with their respective forms. The Ganesha's list presents 32 different forms, thoughtfully crafted by artisans. Many of the forms are worshipped in temples, households, festivals (indoors and outdoors). 

There's a uniqueness to every form. Every form translates His powers and the spiritual meaning behind those powers. These 32 powerful forms are as follows:

1. Bala Ganapathi: The child-like Ganesha

2. Taruna Ganapathi: The youthful Ganesha

3. Bhakti Ganapathi: The devotion-worthy Ganesha

4. Veera Ganapathi: The valiant Ganesha

5. Shakthi Ganapathi: Ganesha with his strength (female) seated on his lap

6. Dvija Ganapathi: The twice born or student Ganesha

7. Siddhi Ganapathi: The Accomplished Ganesha

8. Ucchhishta Ganapati: Ganesha accepting offerings

9. Vighna Ganapati: Ganesha removing Obstacles

10. Kshipra Ganapati: The quick acting Ganesha
11. Heramba Ganapati: The fierce Ganesha
12. Lakshmi Ganapati: Ganesha and the Goddess of Wealth together
13. Maha Ganapati: The Maha form of Ganesha
14. Vijaya Ganapati: Ganesha as a Victor
15. Nritya Ganapati: Dancing Ganesha
16. Urdhva Ganapati: Restrained Ganesha
17. Ekakshara Ganapati: Single-syllable form of Ganesha
18. Varada Ganapati: Ganesha bestowing Boons
19. Tryakshara Ganapati: Three-syllable form of Ganesha
20. Kshipra Prasada Ganapati: Benevolent Ganesha
21. Haridra Ganapati: Ganesha's form in gold
22. Ekadanat Ganapti: One-toothed Ganesha
23. Sristhi Ganapati: The Cosmic Ganesha
24. Uddanda Ganapati: Ganesha form exemplifying Discipline
25. Rinamochana Ganapati: Ganesha redeeming all the debts
26. Dhundhi Ganapati: The Desired form of Ganesha
27. Dwimukha Ganapati: Ganesha with two heads
28. Trimukha Ganapati: Ganesha with thress heads
29. Sinha Ganapati: Ganesha riding on a lion
30. Yoga Ganapati: The Invincible form of Ganesha
31. Durga Ganapati: Ganesha assuming a role of a Yogi
32. Sankatahara Ganapati: That Supreme Ganesha form solving all problems
List Source: 99 Thoughts on Ganesha I Stories, Symbols and Rituals of India's beloved elephant-headed deity by Dr. Devdutt Pattanaik

No comments: